NESCAC Cross Country Awards Announced

NESCAC Cross Country Most Outstanding Performers - Aidan Ryan (Williams) and Sophia Gorman (Colby)
HADLEY, Mass. – Juniors Aidan Ryan of Williams and Sophia Gorman of Colby are the NESCAC Most Outstanding Performers following the 2019 NESCAC Cross Country Championships hosted by Williams on Saturday. The annual honor is given to the individuals who finished first at the conference championship.
Ryan won the men’s race with a time of 25:27.3, 14 seconds ahead of the second-place finisher, to earn his fifth straight victory of the season. Gorman repeated as the NESCAC individual champion in the women’s race, crossing the finish line in 21:40.2. She was six seconds faster than the runner-up, and is the first women's runner to win back-to-back titles since Caroline Cretti of Williams (2004 & 2005).
Tyler Morris of Colby and Sabrina Gornisiewicz of Tufts earned Rookie of the Year honors. Morris finished ninth (25:57.4) to lead the Mules to a fourth-place finish. He is the first Colby runner to garner the honor since David Chelimo in 2013. Gornisiewicz placed third overall with a time of 22:07.6 to help the Jumbos finish as the NESCAC Runner-Up. She is the first Jumbo to earn Rookie of the Year honors since Audrey Gould (2012).
Williams head coach Peter Farwell was selected as the NESCAC Men’s Coach of the Year by his peers. It marks the seventh time in his 40-year tenure with the Ephs that he has garnered the award. Farwell guided the Ephs to their 18th NESCAC title as Williams posted the lowest team score (22 points) since 1996, when the Ephs recorded 26 points to claim the NESCAC Championship. 
Bates head coach Jennifer “Jay” Hartshorn was voted as the NESCAC Women’s Coach of the Year, earning the honor for the second time in her 15 years at the helm of the Bobcats. Bates finished third in the team standings, matching its best finish at the NESCAC Championship since 1987.
2019 All-NESCAC Cross Country Teams
Men’s First Team (places 1-7)
Aidan Ryan, Williams - 25:27.3 @
Theo Henderson, Middlebury - 25:41.8 @
Nick Gannon, Williams - 25:42.8
Danny Aschale, Connecticut College - 25:45.7 !*^
Ryan Cox, Williams - 25:47.9 ^
Elias Lindgren, Williams - 25:49.0 X
Tristan Colaizzi, Williams - 25:52.6 
Men’s Second Team (places 8-14)
William McGovern, Williams - 25:53.3 
Tyler Morris, Colby - 25:57.4
Henry Fleming, Middlebury - 26:00.7 
Kenneth Marshall, Williams - 26:02.5 
Eli Decker, Colby - 26:05.6 ^
Jeffrey Love, Connecticut College - 26:11.0 
Spencer Ferguson-Dryden, Amherst - 26:13.7
Most Outstanding Performer: Aidan Ryan, Williams
Rookie of the Year: Tyler Morris, Colby
Coach of the Year: Peter Farwell, Williams
Women’s First Team (places 1-7)
Sophia Gorman, Colby - 21:40.2 ^
Danielle Page, Tufts - 21:46.1
Sabrina Gornisiewicz, Tufts - 22:07.6 
Eva Borton, Williams - 22:15.7  5:59
Meredith Cronin, Connecticut College - 22:19.4 
Caroline Shipley, Bowdoin - 22:24.9
Sarah Tully, Williams - 22:28.3
Women’s Second Team (places 8-14)
Delaney Bullock, Bowdoin - 22:41.8
Jillian Richardson, Bates - 22:45.5
Meg Wilson, Middlebury - 22:46.8 
Talia Ruxin, Middlebury - 22:47.1 
Rachel House, Connecticut College - 22:51.2
Olivia LaMarche, Bates - 22:55.4 &
Madeleine Boutet, Williams - 22:55.4 
Most Outstanding Performer: Sophia Gorman, Colby
Rookie of the Year: Sabrina Gornisiewicz, Tufts
Coach of the Year: Jennifer “Jay” Hartshorn, Bates
^ 2018 All-NESCAC 1st Team
@ 2018 All-NESCAC 2nd Team
X 2018 Rookie of the Year
* 2017 All-NESCAC 1st Team
& 2017 All-NESCAC 2nd Team
! 2016 All-NESCAC 2nd Team