Williams Sweeps NESCAC Cross Country Titles

Aidan Ryan (Williams) & Sophia Gorman (Colby) - 2019 NESCAC Men's & Women's Cross Country Champions

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. – The Williams men’s and women’s cross country teams swept the 2019 NESCAC Cross Country Championships on their home course at Mount Greylock Regional High School.


The Williams men eased to the title finishing 1-3-5-6-7 for 22 points. It was the 18th NESCAC title for the Ephs and their fifth in seven years. Williams junior Aidan Ryan earned his fourth win in a row to pace Williams as he claimed the individual title with a time of 25:27.3, 14 seconds ahead of runner-up senior Theo Henderson of Middlebury (25:41.8).

Amherst placed four runners in the top 20 and finished second with 97 points. Middlebury (107 points), Colby (135 points), and Bates (138 points) rounded out the top five in the team standings.

Ryan and Henderson earned All-NESCAC First Team honors (places 1-7) and were joined by Nick Gannon (Williams), Danny Aschale (Connecticut College), Ryan Cox (Williams), Elias Lindgren (Williams), and Tristian Colaizzi (Williams). The All-NESCAC Second Team runners (places 8-14) were: William McGovern (Williams), Tyler Morris (Colby), Henry Fleming (Middlebury), Kenneth Marshall (Williams), Eli Decker (Colby), Jeffrey Love (Connecticut College), and Spencer Ferguson-Dryden (Amherst).

The Williams women captured their 17th NESCAC title with 58 points. First-year Eva Borton and junior Sarah Tully earned top-10 finishes for the Ephs. Borton posted a time of 22:15.7 to finish fourth, while Tully placed seventh (22:28.3). Colby’s Sophia Gorman repeated as the NESCAC individual champion, crossing the finish line in a time of 21:40.2. She was six seconds faster than the runner-up Danielle Page of Tufts (21:46.1). Gorman, a junior, is the first runner in the women’s race to win back-to-back titles since Caroline Cretti of Williams achieved the feat in 2004 and 2005.

Page and Sabrina Gornisiewicz finished 2-3 to help Tufts take second place with 90 points. Bates (110 points), Middlebury (125 points), and Bowdoin (161 points) rounded out the top five teams.

Gorman, Borton, Tully, Page, and Gornisiewicz earn All-NESCAC First Team honors (places 1-7) along with Meredith Cronin (Connecticut College) and Caroline Shipley (Bowdoin). The All-NESCAC Second Team runners (places 8-14) were: Delaney Bullock (Bowdoin), Jillian Richardson (Bates), Meg Wilson (Middlebury), Talia Ruxin (Middlebury), Rachel House (Connecticut College), Olivia LaMarche (Bates), and Madeleine Boutet (Williams).

2019 NESCAC Men's Cross Country Champions - Williams Men’s Team Standings
1. Williams – 22 points
2. Amherst – 97 points
3. Middlebury – 107 points
4. Colby – 135 points
5. Bates – 138 points
6. Connecticut College – 157 points
7. Trinity – 179 points
8. Tufts – 183 points
9. Bowdoin – 232 points
10. Hamilton – 244 points
11. Wesleyan - 258 points

2019 NESCAC Women's Cross Country Champions - Williams Women’s Team Standings
1. Williams – 58 points
2. Tufts – 90 points
3. Bates – 110 points
4. Middlebury – 125 points
5. Bowdoin – 161 points
6. Wesleyan – 167 points
7. Amherst – 171 points
8. Colby – 197 points
9. Connecticut College – 223 points
10. Hamilton – 239 points
11. Trinity – 242 points