Four NESCAC Women's Soccer Squads Earn NCAA Tourney Bids

2019 NCAA Selections

HADLEY, Mass. – Amherst, Middlebury, Tufts, and Williams have been selected to participate in the 2019 NCAA Women's Soccer Championship. The 64-team field includes squads from throughout the country. Match times, ticket information and live stats/video coverage for all games will be announced on institutional websites as information becomes available.


Amherst (14-3-1) earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament after winning its fifth NESCAC title with a 1-0 victory over No. 2 Middlebury in the NESCAC Championship game on Sunday. The Mammoths are in the NCAA Tournament for the eighth time in the last nine seasons and 18th time overall. Amherst will host first and second round games on November 16 and 17. The Mammoths will meet NAC Champion, Maine Maritime (13-4-0) in the first round. Dickinson (14-2-4), a Centennial Conference finalist, and Farmingdale State (14-5-3), the Skyline Champion, square off the in the second match in Amherst.

Middlebury (13-2-3), the NESCAC Runners-Up, is making its 12th NCAA Tournament appearance and will host an NCAA Regional. The Panthers face the University of New England (13-5-2), the CCC Champion, in the first game. Stevens (15-3-1), which won the MAC Freedom Championship, plays Little East Champion UMass Boston (19-2-1) in the second match of the first round.

Williams (9-5-2), the two-time defending national champion, is an at-large selection after falling in the NESCAC Semifinals. The Ephs, who are making their 21st NCAA appearance, will travel to MIT for the first and second rounds. The Ephs face Gettysburg (13-4-1), an at-large selection out of the Centennial Conference in the first round. MIT (19-1-2), which won its third straight NEWMAC crown, hosts Johnson & Wales (12-6-1), the GNAC Champion.

Tufts (12-3-2) received an at-large bid and is making its third consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament and eighth overall. The Jumbos will travel to TCNJ to take on SUNYAC Champion, SUNY Cortland (12-5-2), in the second match on Saturday. TCNJ (16-1-1), winner of the NJAC title, hosts first-time NCAA participant John Jay (12-6-1), the CUNYAC Champion, in the opening round.

Forty-three conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2019 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, as well as members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that did not win their conference championship and any remaining Pool B teams.

Sixteen four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, November 15 and 16 or 16 and 17. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites November 22 and 23 or 23 and 24. All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals December 6 and 7, at UNCG Soccer Stadium in Greensboro, North Carolina, with the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Greensboro Sports Foundation serving as hosts.