Women's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams Announced

Women's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams Announced

Middlebury's Favorito Claims Player of the Year Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – Middlebury forward Julia Favorito (Winchester, Mass.) has been selected as the 2013 NESCAC Player of the Year after compiling 15 points with a league-best seven assists during her senior campaign. Three of her four goals on the season have been game-winning markers. Favorito, who ranks third on Middlebury’s career assist list with 21, helped the Panthers earn their third NESCAC Championship on Sunday after finishing the conference schedule at 8-1-1. Favorito was named to the All-NESCAC First Team for the second time in her career after being selected in 2011 to go along with Second Team honors in 2012. She is the third player in program history to garner Player of the Year accolades, joining Meg Bonney (2000) and Brittany Cronin (2004). Middlebury will host first- and second-round games of the NCAA Tournament starting on Saturday.

Joining Favorito among the first-team forwards is senior teammate Scarlett Kirk (San Francisco, Calif.) and sophomore Kiersten Turner (Gorham, Maine) of Bowdoin. Kirk is no stranger to post-season accolades as she earned her third consecutive First Team nod, while Turner is a first-time all-conference selection. Kirk is currently tied for a conference-best 11 goals along with Turner, and is second in the league with 25 points. Turner, who paces the NESCAC with 26 points, leads Bowdoin into the NCAA Tournament as an at-large qualifier with the Polar Bears playing on Saturday.

Senior Carla Nicasio (Rowayton, Conn.) of Williams is the lone repeat all-conference selection among All-NESCAC First Team midfielders. Nicasio, a 2012 Second Team pick, helped dictate play on both ends of the field for the Ephs, who will host NCAA first- and second-round games after earning an at-large berth. She is joined by sophomore teammate Mai Mitsuyama (Natick, Mass.), who recorded three assists for Williams. Other First Team midfielders include junior Elisa Dolan (Bethesda, Md.) of Trinity and sophomore Hannah Robinson (Davidson, N.C.) of Middlebury. Dolan registered five goals, including four game-winners, and four assists for the Bantams, who have won a program-record 12 games, won their first post-season NESCAC contest and earned their first NCAA Tournament bid as an at-large qualifier. Robinson contributed two goals and three assists in 17 games for the Panthers.

The First Team defensive unit features senior Lindsay Kingston (Charlotte, Vt.) of Middlebury, senior Becky Stoneman (Faribault, Minn.) of Bowdoin and junior Catharine Greer (Rye, N.Y.) of Tufts. Kingston started all 17 games for the Panthers, and anchors a defense that is allowing a league-best 0.46 goals per game. Stoneman, a 2012 Second Team selection, contributed on both ends of the field for Bowdoin, as she recorded a goal and two assists in 15 starts. Greer was named to the First Team for the second consecutive season after earning Second Team and Rookie of the Year honors in 2011. She notched one goal in 15 starts this season for the Jumbos.

Middlebury’s Elizabeth Foody (Ottawa, Ontario) was selected as the league’s top goalkeeper for the second straight season. The senior has surrendered just seven goals this season and ranks among the conference leaders in save percentage (.863) and goals against average (0.52). She is 10-1-2 with five shutouts as the Panthers head into NCAA Tournament action this weekend.

First-year Annie Higgins (Westport, Conn.) of Connecticut College was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The forward made an immediate impact for the Camels, posting eight points in her collegiate debut to tie for the team lead. She is the third Camel to receive the award along with Christa Thoeresz (2001) and Claire Linden (2004).

Peter Kim of Middlebury earned NESCAC Coach of the Year honors for the second straight year. He was recognized for the fifth time in his ten seasons at Middlebury (2004, 2006, 2009, 2012, 2013), which is more than any other NESCAC women’s soccer coach. Kim owns a career record of 115-38-21.  

Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Julia Favorito Middlebury Sr. Winchester, Mass.
F Scarlett Kirk Middlebury Sr. San Francisco, Calif.
F Kiersten Turner Bowdoin So. Gorham, Maine
M Elisa Dolan Trinity Jr. Bethesda, Md.
M Mai Mitsuyama Williams So. Natick, Mass.
M Carla Nicasio Williams Sr. Rowayton, Conn.
M Hannah Robinson Middlebury So. Davidson, N.C.
D Catharine Greer Tufts Jr. Rye, N.Y.
D Lindsay Kingston Middlebury Sr. Charlotte, Vt.
D Becky Stoneman Bowdoin Sr. Faribault, Minn.
GK Elizabeth Foody Middlebury Sr. Ottawa, Ontario
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Jamie Hofstetter Bowdoin So. Chester, N.J.
F Anya Kauffman Tufts Sr. Evergreen, Colo.
F Abbey Lake Trinity So. Westport, Conn.
M Carla Kruyff Tufts Jr. Boca Raton, Fla.
M Molly Popolizio Bowdoin Sr. Rexford, N.Y.
M Aina Torres Conn. College Sr. Barcelona, Spain
D Hayley Cook Williams Sr. Virginia Beach, Va.
D Maggie Crowe Trinity Jr. Lowell, Mass.
D Kerry Doyle Wesleyan Sr. North Haven, Conn.
D Maya Jackson-Gibson Amherst Jr. Amherst, N.Y.
GK Holly Burwick Amherst So. New Canaan, Conn.
Julia Favorito
Player of the Year
Julia Favorito, Middlebury
Annie Higgins
Rookie of the Year
Annie Higgins, Connecticut College

Peter Kim  
Coach of the Year
Peter Kim, Middlebury