Three from NESCAC Earn WBCA All-America Honors; Shibles Coach of the Year

Three from NESCAC Earn WBCA All-America Honors; Shibles Coach of the Year

SALEM, Va. - Amherst junior Madeline Eck and Bowdoin senior Abby Kelly are two of the 10 players in the country selected to the WBCA All-America First Team. Amherst junior Hannah Fox was among a select group of student-athletes who garnered honorable mention recognition. The awards were announced at the national championship banquet at Roanoke College.

In addition, Bowdoin head coach Adrienne Shibles was named the WBCA Division III Coach of the Year.

Eck and Fox, both of whom earned WBCA Honorable Mention honors last year, combined to lead Amherst to a 25-4 record, a 9-1 mark in NESCAC play, and advance to the NCAA Sweet Sixteen for the 12th straight year.

Eck and Fox led the NESCAC in scoring, each averaging 16.3 points per game. Eck, who reached the 1,000-point milestone this season, also contributed 6.1 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game. Fox shot 34 percent from 3-point range and averaged 6.1 rebounds, 3.1 assists, and 1.9 steals per game for the Mammoths.

Kelly caps her senior season by becoming Bowdoin's sixth First Team WBCA All-American. The NESCAC and Northeast Region Player of the Year, Kelly leads Bowdoin in scoring at 14.8 points per game and ranks in the top 10 in the NESCAC in points, 3-pointers, field goal percentage and steals. She reached double-figures in 27 of 31 games and surpassed 1,000-point mark this season. Entering the national semifinals, her 1,224 points rank seventh at Bowdoin and her 139 3-pointers are fifth in program history.

Shibles was named the  2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year for the first time after leading the Polar Bears to the second perfect regular season in school history and a second straight "Final Four" appearance. In January she became the winningest head coach in program history and enters the NCAA Final Four with a record of 253-64 (.798) at Bowdoin. The Polar Bears tied a school record for wins in 2018-19 and enter the national semifinal with a 30-1 mark.

Already named the 2018-19 NESCAC, Northeast Region and NEWBA Coach of the Year, Shibles is the eighth Bowdoin coach to earn a National Coach of the Year award. She will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA's six membership divisions, during the 2019 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Tampa Bay, Florida.

Bowdoin will face St. Thomas in the NCAA semifinals on Friday evening at 5:00 p.m.

2019 WBCA NCAA Division III Coaches' All-Americans



Morgan Birmelin

DeSales University

Adrienne Boettger

Wartburg College

Brandi Dawson

Trine University

Madeline Eck

Amherst College

Bryce Frank

Austin College

Hannah Frazier

Wheaton College (Illinois)

Abby Kelly

Bowdoin College

Alecia Rohrer

Messiah College

Hannah Spaulding

University of St. Thomas

Madison Temple

Thomas More College

2019 WBCA NCAA Division III Coaches' All-America Honorable Mention:



Kendahl Adams

Westminster College (Missouri)

Jade Aponte

Hunter College

Faith Ashby


Lindsay Bettke

SUNY New Paltz

Taylor Blevins

Emory & Henry College

Lauren Bondi

Smith College

Francesca Buchanan

Hope College

Emma Dorshimer

Gettysburg College

Hannah Fox

Amherst College

Emma Gerdes

Wartburg College

Hannah Holt

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

Madeline Homoly

Washington University in St. Louis

Maya Howard

DePauw University

Chanel Jemmott

Brooklyn College

Hannah Johnson

Bethel University (Minnesota)

Dani Kissel

Otterbein University

Taylor Lake

University of Chicago

Bridgette Mann

University of Scranton

Kelsi McNamara

Saint Joseph's College

Maddie Merritt

Illinois Wesleyan University

Mia Morrison

William Smith College

Ashley Murray

Rosemont College

Sophie Nick

Vassar College

Cori Okada

Rochester Institute of Technology

Ashley Oldshue

Emory University

Victoria Pena

University of Texas-Dallas

Lucia Renikoff

University of St. Thomas

Lillian Scott

Johns Hopkins University

Rachel Simon

SUNY New Paltz

Maci Thornton

Messiah College