2001 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced

Blake of Williams Named Player of the Year For Second Straight Year

HARTFORD, Conn. – Junior forward Alex Blake of Williams was named the 2001 NESCAC Men’s Soccer Player of the Year, the second consecutive year he has received Player of the Year honors. Blake, the 1999 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, led the conference in scoring with 24 goals and 57 points in leading the Ephs to the conference title and top seed in the NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Championship New England Regional.

Blake’s teammates Ted Giannacopoulos and Josef Powell each earned first-team All-NESCAC honors for the third consecutive year. Powell, a senior midfielder, scored 10 goals and led the conference with 16 assists. Giannacopoulos, a senior forward, scored 12 goals and added 11 assists.

Two other players from NESCAC champion Williams received first-team all-conference recognition. Senior midfielder Richard Bode, who finished with four assists, and senior back Marc Williams, who led the Ephs’ defense that has yielded only 12 goals, were named to the first team.

Four other players repeated as All-NESCAC first team selections. Senior goalkeeper Brian Hamm and senior midfielder Nelson Martelle of conference runner-up Middlebury earned first-team accolades. Hamm posted a 1.15 Goals Against Average, while Martelle, who played every minute of every game in his four-year career, scored three goals for the Panthers. Senior back Ryan Goodband of Amherst and junior forward Morgan Sandell of Trinity each earned first-team honors for the second consecutive year despite injuries. Goodband keyed the Amherst defense. Sandell scored seven goals and assisted on five others for the Bantams.

Rounding out the All-NESCAC first team were senior forward David Bulow of Bowdoin and senior defender Mike Prindiville of Tufts. Bulow scored 17 goals and finished with 39 points. Prindiville scored three game-winning goals in conference victories for the Jumbos.

Freshman defender Andrew Syfu of Amherst, who played every minute of every game in his first season, was named 2001 NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Tufts head coach Ralph Ferrigno was named 2001 NESCAC Coach of the Year.


2001 NESCAC Men's Soccer All-Conference

  First Team School Yr. Hometown
F Alex Blake Williams Jr. Kingston, Jamaica
F David Bulow Bowdoin Sr. Denver, Colo.
F Ted Giannacopoulos Williams Sr. Needham, Mass.
F Morgan Sandell Trinity Jr. Cohasset, Mass.
M Richard Bode Williams Sr. Raleigh, N.C.
M Nelson Martelle Middlebury Sr. Burlington, Vt.
M Josef Powell
Williams Sr. St. Catherine, Jamaica
D Ryan Goodband
Amherst Sr. Needham, Mass.
D Mike Prindiville
Tufts Sr. Manchester, Conn.
D Marc Williams
Williams Sr. Kingston, Jamaica
GK Brian Hamm
Middlebury Sr. Terryville, Conn.
  Second Team School Yr. Hometown
GK Dan Spector Bates Sr. Framingham, Mass.
F Garrett Dale
Tufts Jr. Upper Montclair, N.J.
F/M Matt MacGregor
Tufts Jr. Little Compton, R.I.
F Franklin Perry
Amherst So. Hartford, Conn.
M Patrick Bracewell
Bowdoin Sr. Washington, D.C.
M Brian Mikel
Tufts So. Tucson, Ariz.
M Piercarlo Valdesolo
Amherst Jr. Andover, Mass.
D Tim Canon
Amherst So. Easthampton, Mass.
D Jeff Critchlow Bates Jr. Carlisle, Mass.
D Reeves Livesay Bowdoin Sr. Brunswick, Maine
D Nick Vincent Wesleyan So. Norwich, Vt.
  Player of the Year      
F Alex Blake Williams Jr. Kingston, Jamaica
  Rookie of the Year      
D Andrew Syfu
Amherst Fr.  
  Coach of the Year      
  Ralph Ferrigno