Middlebury & Tufts Earn NCAA Tournament Bids

2019 NCAA Selections

HADLEY, Mass. – NESCAC Champion Middlebury and runner-up Tufts will compete in the 2019 NCAA Field Hockey Championship for the second straight season. The entire field includes 24 teams from around the country. Game times, ticket information, and live coverage links for all games will be announced on institutional websites as they become known. 

Sixteen teams will compete in eight first-round games on campus sites Wednesday, Nov. 13. The eight first-round winners, along with the eight teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday, November 16 and 17.


Middlebury (17-1), the defending national champion, is making its 17th-consecutive and 20th overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Panthers captured their seventh NESCAC title in program history and third in a row with a 3-2 overtime victory over Tufts on Sunday. Middlebury received the NESCAC’s automatic bid and will host second and third round games on November 16-17 at Kohn Field. The Panthers will face the winner of Babson/St. Joseph’s (ME) in the second round. Babson (18-4) was an at-large selection out of the NEWMAC, while St. Joseph’s (ME) (18-3) captured the GNAC title for the fourth year in a row to earn an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament.

Tufts (14-4) will travel to Baltimore, Md. and face the winner of the Rochester/Denison game in the second round at Johns Hopkins. The Jumbos, an at-large selection, earned their 11th NCAA Tournament berth and are making their second straight appearance. Tufts faced Middlebury in last year’s national championship game, finishing as the national runner-up. Rochester (14-8) claimed the Liberty League crown for the second time in three years and is in the NCAA Tournament for the third year in a row. Denison (16-3) captured the NCAC Championship to earn a spot in the NCAA Tournament for the 14th time and is making its third straight appearance.  

The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals and final, Saturday and Sunday, November 23 and 24, at Spooky Nook Sports Complex in Manheim, Pennsylvania. Semifinals will be played at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, November 23, with the championship game being played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, November 24. Championship information, including information about tickets, is available here.

Seventeen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2019 championship. Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, five berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.