Fall All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

Fall All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

HADLEY, Mass. – A total of 83 student-athletes have been named to the 2017 NESCAC Fall All-Sportsmanship Team. The team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport the conference sponsors. Honorees are selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams.


The NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. They display sportsmanship, not only as a participant in their sport, but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Of the 83 individuals honored this fall, six hold multiple All-Sportsmanship Team awards, while seven were also named to All-NESCAC teams in their respective sports.

Headlining the list of repeat All-Sportsmanship honorees is Middlebury senior Becca Raffel (Palo Alto, Calif.), an outside hitter for the volleyball team. The All-NESCAC selection was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team for the second time in her career. Joining Raffel on the All-Sportsmanship squad for volleyball is Amherst senior Marialexa Natsis (Los Angeles, Calif.), who also earned All-NESCAC honors this fall.

Amherst senior women’s golfer Zoe Wong (Hinsdale, Ill.), an All-NESCAC honoree earlier this fall, earned her second All-Sportsmanship honor after being tabbed in 2016. Additional two-time honorees on the women’s golf All-Sportsmanship team include Bates senior Kelly Wassarman (Middletown, Wis.) and Middlebury senior Hope Matthews (Greenwich, Conn.). Hamilton sophomore Winda Wanikpun (Bang Kapi, Thailand) was named to the women’s golf All-Sportsmanship team for the first time in addition to earning All-NESCAC recognition earlier this fall.

All-NESCAC runner Kyle Larsson (Montclair, N.J.), a senior at Trinity, earned a spot on the men’s cross country squad for the second time. Larsson was also honored as an All-Sportsmanship selection in 2016. NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer and First Team honoree Mohamed Hussein (Hargeisa, Somaliland) of Amherst joins Larsson on the men’s cross country All-Sportsmanship squad.

Colby senior Chandler Smith (Yarmouth, Maine) was named to the men’s soccer All-Sportsmanship team for the second straight year. Junior Ben Manoogian (Peabody, Mass.) of Connecticut College and senior Tobias Muellers (Burlington, Vt.) of Williams, both of whom earned All-NESCAC honors this fall, were recognized as All-Sportsmanship honorees for the first time.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student Advisory Committee on Athletics’ (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete welfare. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes’ achievements.