Winter All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

Winter All-Sportsmanship Selections Announced

Honor Recognizes Positive Contributions to Sport Within Conference

HADLEY, Mass. – The New England Small College Athletic Conference has announced the Winter All-Sportsmanship Team for each winter sport sponsored by the conference. The All-Sportsmanship Team is comprised of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and examples, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Sixteen members of the All-Sportsmanship squad received All-Conference recognition this winter with six men's squash players leading the way as co-recipients. A total of 17 individuals earned All-Sportsmanship honors for the second year in a row, while six others garnered recognition for the second time after being named All-Sportsmanship in 2009-10. Colby senior men's squash player Harry Smith (Locust Valley, N.Y.) achieved a rare feat as he was appointed to the All-Sportsmanship team for a fourth consecutive year. Smith also earned All-Conference honors for the fourth-straight season during the 2011-12 campaign, picking up First Team recognition for the second year in a row.

The Winter All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the NESCAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). The NESCAC SAAC serves as the liaison between the student-athletes of NESCAC member institutions and conference administrators. The committee provides a voice to represent the concerns of all student-athletes and to discuss issues impacting student-athlete well-being. The NESCAC SAAC represents all students who participate in intercollegiate athletics and promotes and celebrates student-athletes achievements. 

Men's Basketball  |  Women's Basketball  |  Men's Ice Hockey  |  Women's Ice Hockey 
Men's Squash  |  Women's Squash  |  Men's Swimming & Diving  |  Women's Swimming & Diving


2012 NESCAC Winter All-Sportsmanship Team

Men's Basketball
back to top
Taylor Barrise Amherst Sr. Allendale, N.J.
Reid Christian Bates Sr. Pownal, Maine
Wyatt Littles Bowdoin Sr. Dallas, Texas
Kyle Donovan Colby Sr. Portland, Maine
Brian Mahoney Connecticut College Sr. Quincy, Mass.
Ephraim McDowell Hamilton Sr. Boston, Mass.
Nolan Thompson Middlebury Jr. Akron, Ohio
Chris Applegate Trinity Sr. High Point, N.C.
Peter Saba Tufts Sr. Winchendon, Mass.
Derick Beresford Wesleyan Jr. Hampton, Ga.
Brian Emerson Williams Sr. Arlington, Mass.
Women's Basketball
  back to top
Kim Fiorentino Amherst Sr. Holmdel, N.J.
Taryn O'Connell Bates Jr. Georgetown, Mass.
Ellery Gould Bowdoin Sr. East Sandwich, Mass.
Aarika Ritchie Colby Sr. Lee, Maine
Kacie Quick Connecticut College Jr. Winchester, Mass.
Adrianna Pulford Hamilton Fy. Groton, Mass.
Brittany Perfetti Middlebury Sr. Clifton Heights, Pa.
Kaitlin Ciarleglio Trinity Sr. Waterbury, Conn.
Maggie Riddle Tufts Jr. Cheshire, Conn.
Samantha LaCroce Wesleyan Sr. Prospect, Conn.
Lisa Jaris Williams Sr. Harrington Park, N.J.
Men's Ice Hockey
    back to top
Eddie Effinger Amherst Sr. Belleville, Ill.
Graham Sisson Bowdoin Sr. Chesterfield, Mo.
Danny Nelson Colby Sr. Northbrook, Ill.
Lucas Shavira-Schramm Connecticut College Sr. Phoenix, Conn.
Bryan Kelly Hamilton Sr. Plymouth, Mass.
Charlie Strauss Middlebury Sr. Eagle River, Wis.
Joe Tierney Trinity Sr. Reading, Mass.
Evan Story Tufts Sr. Shaker Heights, Ohio
Geoff Mucha Wesleyan Sr. West Chester, Pa.
Stephen Maier Williams Sr. Orange, Conn.
Women's Ice Hockey
    back to top
Ellen Swiontkowski Amherst Sr. Minnetonka, Minn.
Shelagh Merrill Bowdoin Sr. Lowell, Mass.
Hannah O'Brien Colby Sr. Wolfeboro Falls, N.H.
Lauren Posillico Connecticut College Sr. Nesconset, N.Y.
Abby Runyon Hamilton Jr. Fairport, N.Y.
McKenzie Stevens Middlebury Sr. Vail, Colo.
Lindsey Weiner Trinity Sr. Andover, Mass.
MJ Cardin Wesleyan Sr. Middletown, Md.
Hannah Systrom Williams Sr. Winchester, Mass.
Men's Squash
    back to top
David Kerr Amherst Jr. Short Hills, N.J.
Andrew Cannon Bates Fr. Greenwich, Conn.
Barrett Takesian Bowdoin Sr. Falmouth, Maine
Harry Smith Colby Sr. Locust Valley, N.Y.
John Sluder Connecticut College So. Sudbury, Mass.
Martin Bawden Hamilton So. Short Hills, N.J.
Valentin Quan Middlebury Sr. San Salvador, El Salvador
Antonio Diaz-Gonzalez Trinity Sr. Mexico City, Mexico
Henry Miller Tufts Sr. Philadelphia, Pa.
John Steele Wesleyan So. Lower Merion, Pa.
Alec Greaves Tunnel Williams Jr. Pittsford, N.Y.
Women's Squash
    back to top
Lena Rice Amherst So. Philadelphia, Pa.
Lesea Bourke Bates Fy. Greenwich, Conn.
Bonnie Cao Bowdoin Jr. Carlisle, Mass.
Kate Pistel Colby Jr. Amherst, Mass.
Leah Puklin Connecticut College Fy. Bala Cynwyd, Pa.
Alyssa Bawden Hamilton Sr. Short Hills, N.J.
Abby Jenkins Middlebury So. Latham, N.Y.
Katie Wymard Trinity Sr. Philadelphia, Pa.
Hafsa Chaudhry Tufts Jr. Westwood, Mass.
Mary Foster Wesleyan So. Wallingford, Conn.
Courtney Bogle Williams Sr. Bronxville, N.Y.
Men's Swimming & Diving
  back to top
Mike O'Connor Amherst Sr. Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.
Travis Jones Bates Jr. Ithaca, N.Y.
Noah Perwin Bowdoin Sr. Miami, Fla.
Adam Spierer Colby Jr. Bedford, N.H.
Albert Perley Connecticut College Sr. Charlotte, N.C.
Thomas Cyran Hamilton Sr. Chicopee, Mass.
Mike Oster Middlebury So. Westfield, N.J.
William McCarthy Trinity So. Winchester, Mass.
Andrew Vidikan Tufts Sr. Littleton, Colo.
Nick Huston Wesleyan Jr. Lawrenceville, N.J.
Alex Long Williams Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
Women's Swimming & Diving
  back to top
Susannah Rudel Amherst Sr. Chappaqua, N.Y.
Kara Leasure Bates Sr. Los Alamos, N.M.
Jasmine Mikami Bowdoin Sr. Newmarket, N.H.
Charlotte Veazie Colby Sr. Parker, Colo.
Nora Jefferies Connecticut College Fy. Hamden, Conn.
Jeannie Folan Hamilton Sr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
Nora Daly Middlebury Jr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Megan Chiu Trinity So. Monterey Park, Calif.
Hannah Will Tufts Sr. Mont Vernon, N.H.
Emily Goettsche Wesleyan Sr. Clinton, Conn.
Ashley Turner Williams Sr. Bronx, N.Y.