Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

Amherst’s Lloyd Named Player of the Year for Second Straight Season

HADLEY, Mass. – Senior defender Geneva Lloyd of Amherst has been selected by the conference coaches as the 2013 NESCAC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Lloyd, one of the most dynamic players in the league, has helped the Lord Jeffs to a 13-10-1 record and a 10-5-1 mark in NESCAC play, with their seventh straight semifinal appearance coming this weekend. She is the second Amherst player to be named Player of the Year, joining former Jeff Krystyn Elek, who was honored in 2009.

In addition to earning the conference’s top honor, Lloyd was appointed to the All-NESCAC First Team for the fourth consecutive year, a rare accomplishment across all conference sports. Through 24 games this season, Lloyd leads all league blue-liners in scoring and leads the Amherst offense with 27 points on 13 goals and 14 assists. Of her 13 tallies, three have come on the power play, while she also has three game-winners to her credit. Lloyd also reached the 100 point milestone during a two goal, four assist performance at Colby on January 4.

Sophomore Tori Salmon of Amherst joined Lloyd on the First Team, after leading the NESCAC with 18 assists this season. Her 25 points are second to only Lloyd in Amherst scoring.

Bowdoin senior Kayte Holtz makes her third appearance on the First Team, after collecting 13 goals and 13 assists to sit in sixth among NESCAC point producers. She has scored three game-winners and has helped Bowdoin to its finest season since 2004-05 and, earlier this season, became the tenth player in school history to reach 100 career points. The Polar Bears enjoyed a 14 game unbeaten streak during the regular season and are appearing in their fourth semifinal in as many years. With a league mark of 12-3-1, the Polar Bears have been dominant on both ends of the ice, leading the NESCAC with 87 goals scored and 37 allowed. Bowdoin also ranks second in penalty kill.

Senior defender Madison Styrbicki of Middlebury picked up her fourth All-NESCAC appointment. After being selected to the 2010 Second Team, Styrbicki has been on the First Team in each of the last three seasons. Styrbicki is tied for fifth among NESCAC defenders, racking up 14 points on three goals and 11 assists.

Making her second straight appearance on the  First Team is Trinity junior goaltender Alexa Pujol. Pujol has backboned the Bantams all season, with 1132:12 minutes logged. Through 20 appearances, Pujol has posted a .954 save percentage to lead NESCAC netminders, while her 1.43  goals against average ranks third in the league. She has four shutouts to her credit this season.

Rounding out the All-Conference First Team is forward Rachel Kennedy of Bowdoin. Kennedy also came away as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. In her first stint with the Polar Bears, Kennedy has sparked the offensive effort with 29 points on 15 goals and 14 assists. She scored 10 goals and added 10 helpers in NESCAC competition, while scoring three power play goals and netting four game-winners. Having been named Rookie of the Year this past fall in field hockey, Kennedy becomes the first person selected as NESCAC Rookie of the Year in two sports.

Bowdoin head coach Marissa O’Neil was honored as Coach of the Year. After leading Bowdoin to a 15-8-2 record last season, she has guided the Polar Bears to a 19-4-2 overall record in her second year at the helm. A former Bowdoin field hockey and ice hockey standout, O’Neil was the 2001 NESCAC field hockey Rookie of the Year, 2003 field hockey Player of the Year, and a three-time All-NESCAC selection in both sports.


Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Kayte Holtz Bowdoin Sr. New Berlin, Wis.
F Rachel Kennedy Bowdoin Fy. Trumbull, Conn.
F Tori Salmon Amherst So. Batavia, N.Y.
D Geneva Lloyd Amherst Sr. Calgary, Alberta
D Madison Styrbicki Middlebury Sr. Edina, Minn.
G Alexa Pujol Trinity Jr. New Canaan, Conn.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Hannah Bielawski Middlebury So. Evanston, Ill.
F Lauren Greer Middlebury Sr. North Hampton, N.H.
F Jordan Schildhaus Wesleyan So. Woodbury, N.Y.
F Katie Zimmerman Hamilton Sr. Plymouth, Mich.
D Ashley Salerno Amherst Jr. Brunswick, Maine
D Samantha Weinstein Williams Sr. Marblehead, Mass.
G Kayla Lessard Bowdoin Sr. Enfield, Conn.
Geneva Lloyd
Player of the Year
Geneva Lloyd, Amherst
Rachel Kennedy
Rookie of the Year
Rachel Kennedy, Bowdoin
Marissa O'Neil
Coach of the Year
Marissa O'Neil, Bowdoin