Women's Squash All-NESCAC Selections Released

Women's Squash All-NESCAC Selections Released

El Defrawy of Trinity Earns Both Player and Rookie of the Year

- Trinity first year Kanzy El Defrawy has been selected by the conference coaches as the 2013 NESCAC Player of the Year. Playing at the top of the Bantams’ ladder all season, El Defrawy has a 14-3 record as she helped her squad win the NESCAC Women’s Squash Championship this past February.

El Defrawy, who also earned NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors, was one of three Trinity players chosen as a part of the 10-member All-NESCAC First Team. Joining El Defrawy from the Bantams were juniors Wee Nee Low and Catalina Pelaez. With a 12-4 record, Low is making her first career appearance on the First Team after being selected to the Second Team in 2011. Like El Defrawy, Pelaez was selected as both Rookie and Player of the Year in 2011. A two-time First Team selection, Pelaez was also the Player of the Year in 2012.

Seniors Cheri-Ann Parris of Bates and Kate Pistel of Colby have accomplished the feat of being selected to the First Team in each of their four seasons. Parris sports a 13-6 record for the Bobcats, while Pistel was 15-9 in the top spot for the Mules.

Bates sophomore Nessrine Ariffin makes her second straight appearance on the First Team, after collecting Rookie of the Year honors last season. Wesleyan junior Mary Foster and Williams senior Alli Rubin  also earn their second straight First Team honor. Foster and Rubin were both on the Second Team in 2011. Foster is 6-8 on the year for the Cardinals, while Rubin has a 9-12 mark for the Ephs.

Rounding out the First Team are Middlebury sophomore Charlotte Dewey and Williams senior Laura Henry. Dewey and Henry were both elevated from the the 2012 Second Team. Dewey is 11-4 for the Panthers, while Henry has posted a 10-11 mark for the Ephs.

Wendy Bartlett of Trinity was chosen by her peers as NESCAC Coach of the Year after guiding the Bantams to their seventh straight NESCAC title. This is the first Coach of the Year honor for Bartlett, who is in her 29th season at Trinity.

Women's Squash All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Nessrine Ariffin Bates So. Penang, Malaysia
Charlotte Dewey Middlebury So. Greenwich, Conn.
Kanzy El Defrawy Trinity Fr. Cairo, Egypt
Mary Foster Wesleyan  Jr.  Wallingford, Conn.
Laura Henry Williams Sr. Penn Valley, Pa.
Wee Nee Low Trinity Jr. Penang, Malaysia
Catalina Pelaez Trinity Jr. Bogota, Colombia
Cheri-Ann Parris Bates Sr. St. Philip, Barbados
Kate Pistel Colby Sr. Amherst, Mass.
Alli Rubin Williams Sr. Boston, Mass.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Natalie Babjukova Trinity So. Prague, Czech Republic
Rachel Barnes Bowdoin So. Smiths, Bermuda
Robyn Hodgson Trinity Sr. Aberdeen, Scotland
Abby Jenkins Middlebury Jr. Latham, N.Y.
Myriam Kelly Bates So. Bronx, N.Y.
Torey Lee Bowdoin So. Beverly, Mass.
Chandler Lusardi Amherst Sr. New York, N.Y.
Ellie O’Neill Williams So. Rye, N.Y.
Ashley Tidman Trinity So. Lamor-Plage, France
Anne Wymard Middlebury So. Radnor, Pa.
Kanzy El Defrawy
Player of the Year
Rookie of the Year
Kanzy El Defrawy, Trinity
Wendy Bartlett
Coach of the Year
Wendy Bartlett, Trinity