Men's Squash All-Conference Teams Announced

Men's Squash All-Conference Teams Announced

Malhotra of Trinity Earns Top Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – Trinity senior Vikram Malhotra (Mumbai, India) has been selected by the conference coaches as the 2012 NESCAC Player of the Year. Malhotra went 13-3 in dual matches for the Bantams this season, helping his squad post a 17-2 overall record along with the NESCAC Men's Squash Championship earlier this month, Trinity's sixth consecutive conference crown.

Malhotra also received All-NESCAC recognition for the third consecutive year as he was appointed to the First Team for the second-straight winter. Joining Malhotra from the Bantams on the All-Conference First Team were senior Antonio Diaz-Gonzalez (Mexico City, Mexico) and freshman Miled Zarazua Ramirez (Mexico City, Mexico). Diaz-Gonzales earned his fourth All-NESCAC honor this season as he was chosen to the First Team for the third time in his career (2009, 2010). The 2009 NESCAC Rookie of the Year recorded a 12-3 mark over 15 appearances. Playing at the number three position in the ladder in his first season at Trinity, Zarazua Ramirez posted a 9-2 record. In addition to being named to the All-NESCAC First Team, Zarazua Ramirez came away as the conference's Rookie of the Year.

Senior Will Morris (Bronxville, N.Y.) of Williams completed a rare feat by being named to the All-NESCAC First Team for the fourth year in a row. Morris, one of five to return from last season's First Team, went 12-10 in his final campaign with the Ephs.

Representing Middlebury on the All-Conference First Team were senior Valentin Quan (La Libertad, El Salvador) and junior Jay Dolan (Wareham, Mass.). For Quan, the Panthers' number one, it marked the third time in as many years on the league's top squad. Dolan, a two-time honoree on the Second Team, went 12-8 at the second position in the ladder.

Seniors Robert Burns (Greenwich, Conn.) of Bates and Harry Smith (Locust Valley, N.Y.) of Colby closed out their careers with a second showing on the First Team. Burns (11-13) was last recognized on the All-NESCAC First Team in 2010. Smith (18-13) earned All-NESCAC honors for the fourth-straight season, as he was part of the Second Team during his first two years with the Mules.

Rounding out the 2012 All-NESCAC First Team were a pair of former Rookies of the Year, Connecticut College junior Caleb Garza (Seaville, N.J.) and Wesleyan sophomore John Steele (Merion Station, Pa.). A two-time member of the Second Team, Garza was elevated to the First Team this season as he went 16-5 for the Camels. Steele, who was recognized on the 2011 First Team, posted a 17-7 record in his second year with the Cardinals.

Jamie King of Hamilton was chosen by his peers as NESCAC Coach of the Year. King, a graduate of Williams, is currently in his 12th season as the head of the Continental men’s squash program. He was honored last year as the conference’s coach of the year in women’s squash.

 2012 NESCAC Men's Squash All-Conference Teams
First Team
Robert Burns Bates Sr. Greenwich, Conn.
Jay Dolan Middlebury Jr. Wareham, Mass.
Caleb Garza Connecticut College Jr. Seaville, N.J.
Antonio Diaz-Gonzalez Trinity Sr. Mexico City, Mexico
Vikram Malhotra Trinity Sr. Mumbai, India
Will Morris Williams Sr. Bronxville, N.Y.
Valentin Quan Middlebury Sr. La Libertad, El Salvador
Miled Zarazua Ramirez Trinity Fr. Mexico City, Mexico
Harry Smith Colby Sr. Locust Valley, N.Y.
John Steele Wesleyan So. Merion Station, Pa.
Second Team Institution Year Hometown
Martin Bawden Hamilton So. Short Hills, N.J.
Mike Coscarelli Connecticut College Fr. West Hartford, Conn.
Scott DeSantis Amherst Fr. Sudbury, Mass.
Johan Detter Trinity Jr. Malmo, Sweden
Reinhold Hergeth Trinity Jr. Bloemfontein, South Africa
Andrew Hilboldt Bowdoin Jr. New Canaan, Conn.
Parker Hurst Middlebury So. Greenwich, Conn.
Kevin Chen Williams Fr. Potomac, Md.
Vrishab Kotian Trinity Fr. Mumbai, India
Barrett Takesian Bowdoin Sr. Falmouth, Maine
Player of the Year
Vikram Malhotra
Trinity Sr. Mumbai, India
Rookie of the Year
Miled Zarazua Ramierz
Mexico City, Mexico
Coach of the Year
Jamie King