Men's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Men's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Williams' Sun Emerges as Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. – Junior Felix Sun (Potomac, Md.) of Williams has been selected by the conference's coaches as the 2012 NESCAC Player of the Year. Sun's play has provided plenty of energy for the Ephs this season, as he owns a 21-3 singles mark heading into the NCAA Tournament. He is the first Eph to win the conference's top honor since Dan Greenberg – his current head coach – did so in 2008.

The 2010 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, Sun added All-NESCAC honors to his resume for the third year in a row with a second consecutive appointment to the Singles First Team. Playing in the number two position in the Ephs' ladder, Sun is 13-1 since the start of the spring portion of the Williams schedule with all 13 victories coming in straight sets. During the fall, Sun reached the semifinals of the USTA/ITA New England Regional Championship before falling to doubles partner Matt Micheli. The two received Second Team Doubles among this year's league awards.

Joining Sun from Williams on the All-Conference First Team were juniors Trey Meyer (New Orleans, La.) and Bryan Chow (Niskayuna, N.Y.), as the Ephs' First Team trio has been invited to compete in the NCAA individual championship May 24-26 in Cary, N.C. Meyer and Chow have enjoyed a fantastic season as Williams' top doubles team, going 20-7 and claiming both the USTA/ITA New England Regional and National Small College Championships. The top player in the Ephs' order, Meyer (13-7) was also recognized on the First Team Singles, moving up from last year's Second Team.

Representing NESCAC champion Amherst on the First Team were seniors Austin Chafetz (Palos Vedes, Calif.) and Luis Rattenhuber (Munich, Germany) along with junior Mark Kahan (Farmington, Conn.). Chafetz, previously honored on the Singles First Team in 2010, came away with both Singles and Doubles honors in his final season with the Lord Jeffs. Chafetz is 9-2 in singles play, alternating between the top two spots in Amherst's order, and is 9-1 with partner Rattenhuber. Rattenhuber claimed First Team Doubles a year after taking home First Team Singles. Kahan, who earned Second Team Singles and Doubles as a freshman, garnered First Team Singles for the first time in his career this spring with a 14-4 record as the Jeffs' number one. All three will compete in the national individual tournament.

Bowdoin's top doubles pair of senior Oscar Pena (Miami, Fla.) and sophomore Sam King (Rye Brook, N.Y.) landed on the First Team. Pena and King have put together a 15-6 record this season and will compete in the NCAA doubles tournament later this month. Pena, who received First Team Doubles recognition for the second-straight spring, won the NCAA doubles title in 2011 with former teammate Stephen Sullivan.

A pair of sophomores were honored on the First Team for their singles play. After a stellar freshman year that earned him First Team Doubles, Middlebury's Brantner Jones (Winnetka, Ill.) followed it up with a performance that earned him First Team Singles. Jones, who will compete in the NCAA singles championship, is 16-7 overall with most of his play occurring at number one in the Panthers' order. Bates sophomore Timmy Berg (Bradenton, Fla.) rounded out the 2012 All-NESCAC First Team. The 2011 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, Berg earned a promotion from the third spot in last year's lineup to number-one singles this year, going 16-9 for the Bobcats.

Rookie of the Year went to Bowdoin's Kyle Wolstencroft (Greenwich, Conn.). Wolstencroft is 11-6 in singles play overall, primarily playing in the six spot for the Polar Bears, while putting together a 13-5 mark with partner Doug Caplan in doubles play.

Trinity senior Anson McCook (Miami, Fla.) earned the Clarence Chaffee Sportsmanship Award. The award is given annually to the individual who best combined and displayed a high standard of tennis coupled with the highest levels of sportsmanship. McCook also wrapped up his career with Second Team Singles and Doubles honors, the third year in a row that he has received All-NESCAC recognition.

First year head coach Conor Smith of Bowdoin came away with NESCAC Coach of the Year. Smith's squad reached the final of the conference championship this past weekend for only the second time in program history, as the Polar Bears earned victories in the first round and semifinals before falling to defending NESCAC and NCAA champ Amherst. Bowdoin will play in the NCAA Tournament for the second year in a row this weekend.

2012 NESCAC Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

First Team Institution Yr.    
Timmy Berg Bates So. Singles Bradenton, Fla.
Austin Chafetz Amherst Sr. Singles/Doubles Palos Vedes, Calif.
Bryan Chow Williams Jr. Doubles Niskayuna, N.Y.
Brantner Jones Middlebury So. Singles Winnetka, Ill.
Mark Kahan Amherst Jr. Singles Farmington, Conn.
Sam King Bowdoin So. Doubles Rye Brook, N.Y.
Trey Meyer Williams Jr. Singles/Doubles New Orleans, La.
Oscar Pena Bowdoin Sr. Doubles Miami, Fla.
Luis Rattenhuber Amherst Sr. Doubles Munich, Germany
Felix Sun Williams Jr. Singles Potomac, Md.
Second Team Institution Yr.   Hometown
Derrick Angle Middlebury Sr. Singles Troy, N.Y.
Matt Bettles Bates Jr. Singles/Doubles     
Taunton, England
Rob Crampton Bates Jr. Singles/Doubles Wilton, Conn.
Ned Mandel Trinity Fr. Doubles Potomac, Md.
Anson McCook Trinity Sr. Singles/Doubles Miami, Fla.
Matt Micheli Williams So. Doubles San Francisco, Md.
Oscar Pena Bowdoin Sr. Singles Miami, Fla.
Luis Rattenhuber Amherst Sr. Singles Munich, Germany
Felix Sun Williams Jr. Doubles Potomac, Md.
Player of the Year
Felix Sun
Williams Jr.   Potomac, Md.
Rookie of the Year
Kyle Wolstencroft
Bowdoin Fr.   Greenwich, Conn.
Clarence Chaffee Sportsmanship Award
Anson McCook
Trinity Sr.   Miami, Fla.
Coach of the Year
Conor Smith