Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Men's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Released

Tufts' Bailey Named Player of the Year

HADLEY, Mass. - Tufts junior attack Cole Bailey (Millersville, Md.) has been chosen by the conference coaches as the 2014 NESCAC Player of the Year. Bailey is the fourth Jumbo to garner the accolade, and the first since DJ Hessler won the award in 2010 and 2011. Bailey ranks third among conference scorers with 85 points and 40 assists for an offense that has scored 304 goals in 16 games this season.

For the third straight year, Bailey has earned All-NESCAC recognition, having been selected to the First Team in 2013 and the Second Team in 2012, while also being named the 2012 Rookie of the Year. He already ranks third on Tufts’ career points list with 225 points on 96 goals and 129 assists in 56 games, having tallied at least 65 points in each of his first three seasons. This season he has registered five or more points in 12 games, including an 11-point performance against Connecticut College, while averaging 5.31 points per game.

The all-conference attack unit also features Amherst sophomore Quinn Moroney (Manhasset, N.Y.) and Tufts senior Beau Wood (Sherwood Forest, Md.). First in the league in points (96) and assists (72), Moroney has amassed the most points in the Jeffs’ modern era, surpassing Derek Cherney’s total of 68 during the 2005 season. He also set conference tournament single-game records in points (10) and assists (7) during Amherst’s quarterfinal win over Bowdoin. Wood, a 2012 First Team recipient, is currently second in the conference with 48 goals and fourth with 72 points. He ranks among the top scorers in Jumbo history, as he ranks third all-time in goals (147) and fifth in points (207) over the course of 60 career games. 

A 2013 Second Team honoree, senior Bryan Hopper (Ridgewood, N.J.) of Hamilton was elevated to the First Team in 2014. Hopper tallied 19 goals and five assists as the Continentals’ leading scorer at midfield in 13 games, while recording 31 ground balls. Amherst senior Aaron Mathis (Ridgefield, Conn.) earned all-conference plaudits for the first time in his career, as he led all Jeff midfielders with 38 points on 32 goals and six assists to go along with 20 ground balls. He is also tied for the conference lead with eight man-up goals in 16 games. Rounding out the list of midfielders is sophomore John Uppgren (Stillwater, Minn.) of Tufts, who ranks second in the league with 93 points. He also sits tied for first in man-up goals (8), third in goals (47) and second in assists (46). Uppgren is three points away from setting a new Jumbos’ single-season points record. 

The defense is anchored by a pair of seniors and a sophomore who have all been selected to the all-conference team for the first time in their respective careers. Senior Elliot Albert (Narbeth, Pa.) of Wesleyan has scooped up 29 ground balls and caused 15 turnovers through 16 games for a defense that is allowing 8.28 goals per game. Leading the Bowdoin defense is senior Ben Brewster (Cape Elizabeth, Maine), who led the league with a career-high 33 caused turnovers and ranked eighth with a career-high 65 ground balls. Williams sophomore Ryan Hamilton (Ridgewood, N.J.) received his first All-NESCAC recognition by leading the conference’s best defense, which held opponents to 8.12 goals per game. He has 21 ground balls and 16 caused turnovers so far this season.

Tufts senior Kane Delaney (Brookeville, Md.) garnered First Team status at long-stick midfield for the first time in his career. Delaney has posted five points on four goals and an assist, with 50 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers. Sophomore teammate Conor Helfrich (Andover, Mass.) leads the NESCAC with 140 ground balls to compliment a faceoff percentage of .590 (226-383) and four goals.

Middlebury senior Nate Gaudio (Cheshire, Conn.) moved up from last season’s Second Team to earn a spot as the First Team goalkeeper in 2014. Against conference opponents, Gaudio (8-8) ranks third with 132 saves, a .614 save percentage and an 8.50 goals against average.

Colby’s Austin Sayre (Summit, N.J.) was selected as the 2014 NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Sayre had a standout first year, leading the Mules with 36 goals and 47 points. His top performances of the season came in his collegiate debut against Trinity when he recorded six goals and two assists and the regular-season finale when he tallied six goals and an assist versus Bates. 

Mike Daly
of Tufts and George McCormack of Williams have been recognized by their peers as the NESCAC Co-Coaches of the Year. Daly, who has been at the Jumbos’ helm for 16 seasons, is receiving the award for the third time in his career after being acknowledged in 2004 and 2007. He helped guide Tufts to its third No. 1-seed in the NESCAC Championship in four seasons with a 9-1 conference record and a 14-2 overall mark. McCormack earns the award for the second time in his 11th year directing the Ephs, previously garnering the award in 2008. This season McCormack led Williams into the postseason for the first time in four seasons, while advancing to the semifinals for the first time since 2008. The Ephs are 10-6 overall with a 6-4 NESCAC record, including a win over Tufts.

Men's Lacrosse All Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Cole Bailey Tufts Jr. Millersville, Md.
A Quinn Moroney Amherst So. Manhasset, N.Y.
A Beau Wood Tufts  Sr. Sherwood Forest, Md.
M Bryan Hopper Hamilton Sr. Ridgewood, N.J.
M Aaron Mathias Amherst Sr. Ridgefield, Conn.
M John Uppgren Tufts So. Stillwater, Minn.
D Elliot Albert Wesleyan Sr. Narbeth, Pa.
D Ben Brewster Bowdoin Sr. Cape Elizabeth, Maine
D Ryan Hamilton Williams So. Ridgewood, N.J.
SP Conor Helfrich Tufts So. Andover, Mass.
LSM Kane Delaney Tufts Sr. Brookeville, Md.
GK Nate Gaudio Middlebury Sr. Cheshire, Conn.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Derek Bertolini Conn. College Jr. Madison, Conn.
A Quentin DellaFera Wesleyan Jr. Locust Valley, N.Y.
A Franklin Reis Bowdoin Sr. Hampton Falls, N.H.
A Chris Schoenhut Tufts Jr. Mill Neck, N.Y.
M Peter Reuter Bowdoin So. Ridgewood, N.J.
M Aidan Daniell Wesleyan Sr. Rye, N.H.
M Graham Macnab Wesleyan Sr. Winter Park, Fla.
D Dan Alles Tufts Sr. Rockville Centre, N.Y.
D Ryan Cassidy Amherst So. Wellesley, Mass.
D Dylan Lahey Hamilton Jr. Hyannis, Mass.
SP Stephen Upton Williams Sr. Alexandria, Va.
LSM Darric White Middlebury Sr. Fairfield, Conn.
GK Dan Whittam Williams Jr. Allendale, N.J.
Cole Bailey
Player of the Year
Cole Bailey, Tufts
Austin Sayre
Rookie of the Year
Austin Sayre, Colby
Mike Daly
Co-Coach of the Year
Mike Daly, Tufts
George McCormack  
Co-Coach of the Year
George McCormack, Williams