NewsMay 20, 2017 Team-record six athletes selected to compete in seven events for women's track at NCAAs The Bates women's track and field team will be represented by a team-record six athletes competing in a total of seven events, as accepted entries to...
NewsMay 20, 2017 Fakorede, Harrington, Griffin, Kiely selected to compete at NCAA Championships The Bates men's track and field team will be represented by four athletes competing in a total of five events, as accepted entries to the NCAA...
NewsMay 19, 2017 Eighty-eight Bobcats named NESCAC Spring 2017 All-Academic Eighty-eight Bates College students from the Bobcats' spring varsity athletic teams have received 2017 NESCAC Spring All-Academic honors, announced...
NewsMay 18, 2017 Griffin lands NCAA berth in 800 meters; Fakorede scores big personal record in discus at MIT Bates senior captain Patrick Griffin recorded a career-best time in the 800-meter run, enough to land a berth in next week's NCAA Division III Outdoor...
NewsMay 18, 2017 Bates rowers receive academic honors from USRowing; Steenstra named NIRC Women's Coach of the Year USRowing and the National Invitational Rowing Championships (NIRC) on Thursday announced the regatta's postseason awards, with Bates head coach Peter...
NewsMay 18, 2017 Ten Bobcats named NESCAC Spring 2017 All-Sportsmanship Ten Bates College student-athletes have earned 2017 NESCAC Spring All-Sportsmanship honors, the New England College Athletic Conference announced...
NewsMay 18, 2017 Rosen, Ellis repeat as All-NESCAC men's tennis selections Bates junior Ben Rosen and senior Chris Ellis repeated as All-NESCAC selections Thursday, as the New England Small College Athletic Conference named...
NewsMay 17, 2017 Men's lacrosse drops a 14-13 thriller on the road to Wesleyan in NCAA quarterfinals The No. 3 nationally ranked Bates men's lacrosse team rallied from seven goals down to tie the game but Harry Stanton scored with 38 seconds remaining...
NewsMay 16, 2017 NCAA Lacrosse Quarterfinal Preview: Bates (16-1) at Wesleyan (19-1) Both teams are the best ever assembled by their respective programs. Who's better? It could never have been settled any other way than on the field.
NewsMay 17, 2017 Champion rowing teams, coach Steenstra dominate NESCAC All-Conference honors Bates College's NESCAC champion men's and women's rowing teams led all schools with six all-conference selections apiece, while head coach Peter...
Name Title Phone Email
Kevin McHugh Athletic Director (207) 786-6341 kmchugh@bates.edu
Sue Harriman Senior Woman Administrator (207) 786-6238 sharrima@bates.edu
Andy Walter Sports Information Director (207) 786-6411 twalter@bates.edu
Mike Verville Athletic Trainer (207) 786-6359 mvervill@bates.edu
Jon Martin Baseball Head Coach (207) 786-6063 jmartin2@bates.edu
Jonathan Furbush Men's Basketball Head Coach (207) 786-6343 jfurbush@bates.edu
Alison Montgomery Women's Basketball Head Coach (207) 786-6362 amontgom@bates.edu
Al Fereshetian Men's Cross Country Head Coach (207) 786-6360 afereshe@bates.edu
Jay Hartshorn Women's Cross Country Head Coach (207) 786-6356 jhartsho@bates.edu
Danielle Ryder Field Hockey Head Coach (207) 786-6350 dryder@bates.edu
Mark Harriman Football Head Coach (207) 786-6344 mharrima@bates.edu
James Upham Men's & Women's Golf Head Coach (207) 786-6441 jupham2@bates.edu
Peter Lasagna Men's Lacrosse Head Coach (207) 786-8263 plasagna@bates.edu
Brett Allen Women's Lacrosse Head Coach (207) 786-8389 ballen@bates.edu
Peter Steenstra Men's & Women's Rowing Head Coach (207) 786-6363 psteenst@bates.edu
Micaela Holland Alpine Skiing Head Coach (207) 786-6346 mholland@bates.edu
Becky Woods Nordic Skiing Head Coach (207) 786-6339 rwoods@bates.edu
Stewart Flaherty Men's Soccer Head Coach (207) 689-1444 sflahert@bates.edu
Kelsy Ross Women's Soccer Head Coach (207) 786-8398 kross3@bates.edu
McKell Barnes Softball Head Coach (207) 755-5950 mbarnes@bates.edu
Pat Cosquer Men's & Women's Squash Head Coach (207) 577-9175 pcosquer@bates.edu
Peter Casares Men's & Women's Swimming Head Coach (207) 786-8264 pcasares@bates.edu
Paul Gastonguay Men's & Women's Tennis Head Coach (207) 786-6442 pgastong@bates.edu
Al Fereshetian Men's Track & Field Head Coach (207) 786-6360 afereshe@bates.edu
Jay Hartshorn Women's Track & Field Head Coach (207) 786-6356 jhartsho@bates.edu
Melissa DeRan Volleyball Head Coach (207) 786-5954 mderan@bates.edu

Bates College

Address:Lewiston, ME 04240
Founded:1855
Enrollment:1,700
Nickname:Bobcats
Colors:Garnet
President:Clayton Spencer
Dir. of Athletics:Kevin McHugh
Sr. Woman Administrator:Sue Harriman
SID:Andy Walter
Faculty Athletics Rep.:Michael J. Retelle
Athletic Trainer:Mike Verville
View: Mobile | Desktop